Historic John Kurtz House c.1805
The John Kurtz House is one of the oldest homes built in this charming and well preserved historic village of Uniontown, Maryland. Backing to farmland and set away from the road, this significant historic home has been meticulously and lovingly restored. Featuring gorgeous original wood floors, exposed beam ceilings, exposed log walls, and fireplaces with original wood mantels, as well as, tastefully renovated bathrooms & a stunning kitchen with stainless steel appliances and granite counter tops. This is a unique opportunity to own an extraordinary piece of 19th century history where the town grocer, John Kurtz once lived and sold his dry goods, and later, in 1884, the town shoemaker, Reuben Matthias, lived here and had his cobbler shop out back. Over the past 200 years, there have been many fine stewards who walked these same floor boards, sat in rocking chairs on the porch and enjoyed a historic community lifestyle. In fact, from the John Kurtz House’s spacious wrap-around front porch, if you squint and let your mind go, you can imagine life as it once was in this wonderfully preserved village of Uniontown.
This is a home of rare & beautiful distinction, close to DC & Baltimore, yet a world away.
Featured on the 2019 Maryland House & Garden Pilgrimage.
Foyer 17′ x 6′ – Wood floor, chair rail, exposed wood beam ceiling, wood panel wall, clothes pegs, door to basement.
Living Room 16′ x 16′ – Wood floor, fireplace with wood mantel, chair rail, exposed wood beam ceiling, wood paneling, 4 windows.
Dining Room 15′ x 15′ – Wood floor, chair rail, exposed beam ceiling, door to porch, 5 windows.
Kitchen 16′ x 8′ – Wood floor, double sink, granite counters, recessed lighting, stainless steel appliances, French doors to screened porch, 1 window.
Family Room 18′ x 16′ – Wood floor, fireplace with wood mantel, built-in bookcases, exposed log walls, exposed wood beam ceiling, wood paneling, 2 windows.
Powder Room 5′ x 4′ – Ceramic tile floor, 1 window.
Den 12′ x 6′ – Brick floor, built-in cabinets, door to patio, 1 window.
Screened Porch 16′ x 12′ – Outdoor carpet, ceiling fan.
Landing 14 x 4′ – Wood floor, recessed lighting, door to attic, 1 window.
Hall Bathroom 16′ x 9′ – Wood floor, bathtub, 3 closets, 3 windows.
Master Bedroom 17′ x 15′ – Wood floor, fireplace with wood mantel, chair rail, exposed wood beam ceiling, exposed log walls, 2 windows.
*Master Sitting Room 8′ x 7′ – Wood floor, recessed lighting, 4 windows.
*Master Bathroom 9′ x 6′ – Wood floor, shower, custom cabinets, 1 window.
Bedroom 2 13′ x 7′ –Wood floor, chair rail, 1 closet, 1 window.
Bedroom 3 15′ x 10′ – Wood floor, chair rail, 2 closets, window seat, 2 windows.
Bedroom 4 16′ x 15′ – Carpet, built-in cabinets & shelving, 2 closets, 5 windows.
Concrete floor, utilities & built-in shelving.
Fixed stairs, walk up, floored, storage.
2 Car Garage
There is some dispute in the published histories over the date of construction of 3473 Uniontown Road. Dr. J. J. Weaver, Jr. believed that it was built before 1783, while J. Thomas Scharf states that it was built by John Kurtz as a residence and store in 1805. While Weaver is generally more reliable and accurate than Scharf, it appears that Scharf is correct about this house. John Kurtz was an influential person in the early history of Uniontown and the land records indicate that he built a log house at 3473 Uniontown Road about 1806-1810. Kurtz & David Stem had purchased the south side of Uniontown Road from Conrad Stem in 8106, which they sub-divided and sold in one-half and one-acre lots. Most of the lots were sold between 1809 and 1815. From the prices recorded in the land records, it appears that Kurtz & Stem made improvements on some of the lots before selling them. Kurtz was also engaged in business as a storekeeper. The December 2, 1813 edition of The Engine of Liberty carries a notice that states “Public Sale – at dwelling house of the subscriber in Uniontown, the residue of his store, consisting of Dry Goods, Groceries, etc. John Kurtz.” Kurtz mortgaged this property (“two acres including my dwelling house and store room”) in 1817. Subsequent 19th century owners were Michael Wagner (1824), Samuel Myers (1838), Adam Danner (1852), Edwin G. Gilbert (1879) and Reuben Matthias (1884). Reuben Matthias was a shoemaker who had a cobbler’s shop behind the house. The exterior of the structure shows several later alterations such as stone chimney, the tall first story windows, and the exterior siding.
(Maryland Historical Trust)
Uniontown is the gem of Carroll County’s small towns and villages. It contains a variety of elements that make it representative of most early settlements in this region, including its plan which is linear along an important turnpike. Today, the town retains much of its early characteristics including its tree lined streets and historic buildings. The town exhibits a diversity of nineteenth and early twentieth century structures that, in effect, present a lively museum of rural architectural styles and details. All of these features combine to create the quaint atmosphere and charm found in the community. The unique quality of Uniontown is its physical character that portrays a townscape virtually unchanged from the turn-of-the-20th century. The few buildings that date from the mid-twentieth century are relatively inconspicuous. Moreover, the view from the town towards the adjoining countryside is preserved. A distinct boundary between village and countryside exists without the imposition of suburban subdivisions or strip development.
John Kurtz House – Maryland Historical Trust (CARR-347)
Pilgrimage Tour – Featured on the 2019 Maryland House & Garden Pilgrimage
Baltimore Sun – Uniontown Offers a Look at Its Architectural History
Uniontown Historic District – National Register of Historic Places
Design Guidelines – Carroll County Historic District Commission
Roads to Gettysburg – Carroll County Maryland
Carroll County – Carroll County Tourism
All information is deemed reliable, but not guaranteed.
Certified Historic Maryland Properties Specialist (CHMP)
Long & Foster Real Estate, Inc.
189 Kentlands Blvd.
Gaithersburg, MD 20878
301-975-9500 ext.4604 Office